Young plant with rather long stem

Hi everyone,

I’m an absolute beginner from France (yes I grow in secret lol).

May I ask for a little advice ?

My little plants are 1 week old, all seems alright, they look very healthy with new leaves coming, except for the stem : during germination they grow a pretty long stem, and when I planted the plugs in the 11L pots, I didn’t add substrat to « shorten » and consolidate the stems (I didn’t know it’s possible to do that).

Do you think I can do that now (add substrat) ?

Thanks a lot,

The term used to describe plants that have tall stems is that they are "leggy”. Typically, that’s caused by the plants not getting enough light. The idea is that they’re not getting enough light so they’re “stretching” to reach the light source.
The solution is to increase the power of the light or move the light closer to the plants.

Thank you for your answer.

The legging occurred while germinating, now that they are in the tent the light is OK I think (I’m using a 200W Lumatek ATTIS on 40 %).

My concern is will the stem support the weight of the leaves as they seem to grow very well ?

Got it.
I read a tip over the weekend about this and you’re correct - just add additional soil and, voila!, that stem is shorter! :slight_smile:

Oh that’s great !
I was wondering if the fact of surrounding the stem with substrat wouldn’t make it rot…

In your opinion, how much of the stem should I left uncovered ?

I wouldn’t think so but I’ve never grown anything in soil. To my way of thinking, the part of stem that you cover up will have a little more moisture around it and won’t be receiving any light. I don’t see how that would cause any issues.

Seedlings normally have a stem of, what, 4-6 cm?

Another approach is to support the stem with by putting a piece of plant tie around a toothpick and putting the toothpick in the soil.

Thank you very much for the tip.
Will try asap this technique.

What is the substrat used in the photo ?