VPD vs. High Humidity

Hey all,
I’m currently in flowering, and I always have to deal with higher-than-I-like humidity, but my VPD is nice. For example, looking at my logs from yesterday, my average temp was 79 and my average RH was 69, with an average VPD of 1.1, which I’m pleased with.

I have wrestled with the humidity, and I just have to deal with it. I tried a dehumidifier but that creates enough heat to bring my temps up past where I like. Just rolling with it.

Anyways, I guess my question is which is preferred – shooting for a good VPD even if that means going higher/lower on temp/RH or trying to maintain proper temp/RH even if that means the VPD will be higher/lower than what’s needed at that growth stage? In other words, we see charts that show optimal temp and RH at different stages of growth, but is it better to stick with proper VPD?

My plants are not complaining and seem to like the environment, so that also tells me a lot as well.

Thanks

I’m a bit new to this whole VPD concept. But generally, in my experience having RH on the high side during the first half of flower can boost your yield significantly, on the flip side, potential for PM is greater. It really comes down to your strains immune system and genetic resistance to PM. If both are high, boom bang booya. If either are weak, bum bum ba dum. Its science bro.

3 Likes

Makes sense. Right now, my plants are loving life, and I have a ton of air circulation to help prevent budrot. Ultimately, I guess that’s what it’s all about.

1 Like

I agree w/ @MeanMrMustard - if you can get away w/ the higher RH, go for it, but keep in mind that it is risky. Make sure your airflow is good and that you meticulously check your plants for any issues to catch them early.

1 Like