The Ultimate Vapor Pressure Deficit (VPD) Guide - Pulse Labs

So now you know what VPD is, how it impacts plants, and how you can change VPD. All that’s left is to figure out how to use this information in your own grow. Ideal VPD, as a general rule for plant growth, is around 0.8 – 1.2 kPa (kilopascals). However, your plants have different needs during different stages of growth. You need to tailor your grow environment to the stage of growth that your plants are in. Below are some general recommendations, but keep in mind that these recommendations can vary strain to strain, and setup to setup. As always, observe your plants and tweak things accordingly.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://pulsegrow.com/blogs/learn/vpd
1 Like

Thanks for reading my article. Let me know if you have any questions!

3 Likes

Hi, I enjoyed reading your article. I’m new to VPD and have always just used humidity. Currently, my tent is 75°, humidity is 64.2% and the VPD is 1.01. According to what I’ve read, the VPD is ideal as well as the temperature. The humidity seems high. Early veg. Any advice? Do I just ignore humidity? Thanks!

paul

Hi Paul,

I am a commercial grower and I cultivate indoors using artificial lighting and co2 enrichment, with inorganic salts in coir as a medium. This is considered “high performance” cultivation which means that the plants are much more sensitive to the conditions they are placed in, and achieving optimal values is critical to the business. For home growers, achieving optimal environmental parameters is not typically necessary, and is also sometimes not even desired.